The 23rd Dubrovnik Economic Conference

Published: 20/10/2016 Modified: 5/6/2017

June 4 – June 6, 2017
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Participation by invitation only



  • Dr Boris Vujčić, Assistant Professor, Governor of the Croatian National Bank, Chairman of the Committee
  • Dr Paul Wachtel, Professor, New York University, Leonard N. Stern School of Business, Member of the Committee
  • Dr Randall K. Filer, Professor, Hunter College and The Graduate Center, CUNY, CERGE - EI, Member of the Committee
  • Dr Dubravko Mihaljek, Head of Macroeconomic Analysis, Bank for Interantional Settlements, Member of the Committee


  • Tomislav Presečan, MSc, Vicegovernor of the Croatian National Bank, Chairman of the Committee
  • Nina Srkalović, Head of the Office of the Governor, Deputy Chairwoman of the Committee
  • Mirjana Šipić, Advisor at the Accounting Department, Member of the Committee
  • Vanja Orešković, Associate in the Office of the Governor, Secretary of the Committee


  • Dr Randall K. Filer, Professor, Hunter College and The Graduate Center, CUNY, CERGE-EI, Chairman of the Committee
  • Dr Evan Kraft, Professor, American University
  • Dr Paul Wachtel, Professor, New York University Leonard N. Stern School of Business, Member of the Committee


Conference Venue
Hotel Grand Villa Argentina
Conference Hall, Level 4 
Frana Supila 14
20000 Dubrovnik, CROATIA
Tel.: 385-20-440-555
Fax: 385-20-432-524

Conference Office 
During the Conference days: Hotel Grand Villa Argentina, Level 3. After the Conference days: Organizing Committee of the 23DEC - the Croatian National Bank, Trg hrvatskih velikana 3, 10000 Zagreb, Croatia

For all further information regarding the conference please send e-mail to the following address

Audio Visual Facilities
An overhead projector, whiteboard, flipcharts and link for Power Point presentation will be available for participants.  If you have any special requirements please let us know as soon as possible.

Faxes and Telephone Messages during the Conference days:
Please note that incoming faxes and telephone messages should be marked to the attention of: 23DEC - The Twenty-Third Dubrovnik Economic Conference. 

Accommodation and location
Hotel Grand Villa Argentina is ideally situated on the seafront with a perfect view on the Old City and nearby Lokrum Island .The hotel was opened in 1922 and provides both an idyllic retreat and superb service. Surrounded by a sub-tropical park, Hotel Grand Villa Argentina has salon with piano-bar, indoor swimming pool, sauna and massage, hairdresser, private beach, outdoor swimming pool on a shady terrace, parking space, garage and taxi service.

Please note that incidental expenses such as the mini bar, telephone or any other services offered by the hotel will not be covered by our reservation and should be paid on departure.

Breakfasts and lunches on both days will be served at the Hotel Grand Villa Argentina. Welcome cocktail on Sunday, June 4, 2017 will be served at the Hotel "Grand Villa Argentina".

Publication of papers presented at the Conference
The Croatian National Bank intends to publish the presented papers within a reasonable time following the Conference subject to international review. It is assumed that the authors will cede the copyrights to the Croatian National Bank.

All Sessions of the Conference will be open for members of the press.


  1. Zurab Abramishvili, CERGE-EI
  2. Alin Marius Andrieş, The Alexandru Ioan Cuza University of Iasi
  3. Madelyn Antoncic, Principal Global Investors
  4. Neven Barbaroša, Croatian National Bank
  5. Suzanne P. Bishopric, Global Sovereign Advisors
  6. Alen Bobetko, Croatian National Bank
  7. Boris Borozan, Global Sovereign Advisors
  8. Paul De Grauwe, London School of Economics and Political Science
  9. Jakob de Haan, De Netherlandsche Bank
  10. Servaas Deroose, European Commission
  11. Ivana Draženović, Croatian National Bank
  12. Mirna Dumičić, European Central Bank
  13. Marija Magdalena Đidara, Croatian National Bank
  14. John S. Earle, George Mason University
  15. Gillian Edgeworth, Wellington Management
  16. Michael Faulend, Croatian National Bank
  17. Randall K. Filler, City University New York &CERGE-EI
  18. Bojan Fras, Croatian National Bank
  19. Josip Funda, Croatian National Bank
  20. Oleh Havrylyshyn, University of Toronto
  21. Sanja Jakovljević, Croatian National Bank
  22. Ljubinko Jankov, Croatian National Bank
  23. Boštjan Jazbec, Bank of Slovenia
  24. VahagnJerbashian, University of Barcelona
  25. Yuemei Ji, University College London
  26. KeyuJin, London School of Economics and Political Science
  27. Miroslav Jošić, Croatian National Bank
  28. Andrija Kojaković, CEOC Ltd
  29. Christian Kopf, Spinnaker Capital
  30. Alen Kovač, Erste&Steiermärkische Bank
  31. Irena Kovačec, Croatian National Bank
  32. Evan Kraft, American University
  33. Ricardo Lago, Florida International University
  34. Maroje Lang, Croatian National Bank
  35. Kristóf Lehmann, The Central Bank of Hungary
  36. Bojana Leskovar, Bank of Slovenia
  37. Alemka Lisinski, Croatian National Bank
  38. Vladimir Maoduš, Morgan Stanley
  39. Relja Martić, Croatian National Bank
  40. Ana Martinis, Croatian National Bank
  41. Dubravko Mihaljek, Bank for International Settlements
  42. Danijel Mlinarić, Faculty of Economics and Business, University of Zagreb
  43. Henry Moezinia
  44. Radmila Nižetić, Zagreb Money Market
  45. Damir Odak, Croatian National Bank
  46. Vanja Orešković, Croatian National Bank
  47. David Pedrosa, International Monetary Fund
  48. Cristian Popa, European Investment Bank
  49. Tomislav Presečan, Croatian National Bank
  50. Gordan Prugovečki, Croatian National Bank
  51. Tomislav Ridzak, Croatian National Bank
  52. Stijepo Sentović, Croatian National Bank
  53. Hyun Song Shin, Bank for International Settlements
  54. Nina Srkalović, Croatian National Bank
  55. Petar Stankov, University of World and National Economy, Sofia
  56. Hrvoje Stojić, Addiko Bank
  57. Gordi Sušić, Croatian National Bank
  58. Vedran Šošić, Croatian National Bank
  59. Alan M. Taylor, University of California, Davis
  60. Sanja Tomičić, Croatian National Bank
  61. Natacha Valla, European Investment Bank
  62. Nicolas Véron, Bruegel & Peterson Institute
  63. Ricardo Vicente, Talinn University of Technology
  64. Ivana Vidaković Peruško, Croatian National Bank
  65. Svetlana Vtyurina, International Monetary Fund
  66. Boris Vujčić, Croatian National Bank
  67. Paul Wachtel, N. Setrn School of Business, New York University
  68. Ante Žigman, Croatian National Bank
  69. Vesna Živković, Central Depository and Clearing Company Inc.