Who issues electronic money?

Published: 5/11/2018
Electronic money institutions must be authorised by the Croatian National Bank

In the Republic of Croatia, electronic money is issued by banks and electronic money institutions.

In the Republic of Croatia, electronic money may also be issued by institutions authorised by competent authorities of other EU Member States provided such institutions are enrolled in the appropriate register in the home Member State, the passporting procedure (notification of cross-border provision of services) has been conducted and the competent authority of EU Member State in which the relevant electronic money institution was established has notified the Croatian National Bank of the intention to provide services in the territory of the Republic of Croatia.